SONGS ABOUT DEATH


SONGS ABOUT DEATH

Making his debut – Cde Henocq
“Let It Die” by The Foo Fighters.
A heart of gold but it lost its pride
Beautiful veins and bloodshot eyes
I’ve seen your face in another light
Why’d you have to go and let it die?

Generally admired – ‘an anthem for a big stadium’… touch of the Chilli Peppers at the start … nice transition in mid-song… excellent scream-ending.

Cde Phillips
‘Death’ by White Lies.
I LOVE THE FEELING WHEN WE LIFT OFF WATCHING THE WORLD SO SMALL BELOW I LOVE THE DREAMING WHEN I THINK OF THE SAFETY IN THE CLOUDS OUT MY WINDOW I WONDER WHAT KEEPS US SO HIGH UP COULD THERE BE LOVE BENEATH THESE WINGS ? IF WE SUDDENLY FALL SHOULD I SCREAM OUT? OR KEEP VERY QUIET AND CLING TO MY MOUTH AS I’M CRYING SO FRIGHTENED OF DYING “RELAX” YES I’M TRYING BUT FEAR’S GOT A HOLD OF ME

Also admired, but for fade-out ending – ‘very poor’. Slick, prompting thoughts of Depeche Mode and OMD. Really about death? Probably not…

Cde Mason
‘I Will Follow You Into The dark’ by Death Cab for Cutie.
If Heaven and Hell decide that they both are satisfied
Illuminate the NOs on their vacancy signs
If there’s no-one beside you when your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark…

In combination with the Foo Fighters and Iron & Wine, prompted discussion of relationship between death and fingerpicked guitar… very popular choice… sincere?

Cde Callas
“Naked as we came” by Iron and Wine.
Birds are leaving over autumn’s ending
One of us will die inside these arms
Eyes wide open
Naked as we came
One will spread our ashes round the yard

More reverent silence for this one… coming in at 2 mins something so guaranteed a vote or two… clear acceptance of mortality… a love song really…

Cde Atwell
‘Killed by Death’ by Motorhead
But it don´t make no difference
´cos I ain´t gonna be, easy, easy
the only time I´m gonna be easy´s when I´m
Killed by death
Killed by death
Killed by death
Killed by death

Capital D for Death? Umlaut on Motorhead? These important questions preoccupied the listeners, as well as the guitar work and associations with Wayne’s World.

Cde Walsh
‘Frankie’s Gun!’ by the Felice brothers

Slip make a fender shine
Frankie you’re a friend of mine
Got me off a bender after long legged Brenda died
I thought we might be on a roll this time Frankie
I could have swore the box said Hollywood blanks but
You see my mama
Please tell her
I left a little rock in a box in the cellar
That’s for her to wear till kingdom come
Lots of Dylan associations… general contempt for the accordion and the sha-lay-lays… bit of a treat at the end with the first yodel since Hank Williams III

Cde Tamvakis
‘My Death’ by David Bowie
My death waits like a bible truth
At the funeral of my youth

A cheerful little number from the Thin White Duke

There were also two ‘in absentia’ selections

Cde Cherry
The song I would have chosen is Mercy Seat – Johnny Cash’s cover of a Nick Cave song. Cash’s gravelly voice of this era lends itself well to the dark tortured lyrics.

Much admired and listened to in reverent silence, though generally thought to be a bit of a banker choice

Cde Deller
My offering is ‘Gas Gauge’ by Spearhead. Spearhead are fronted by Michael Franti – a poet/musician – who used to front The Disposable Heroes of Hypocrisy back in the 80’s. Spearhead are a blend of hip, reggae, funk ( and jazz and soul at times too). ‘Gas Gauge’ is the story of a homeboy on the day of a job interview, dealing with his brother who has borrowed his car – and his wallet – fielding calls from his Mom and, ultimately, a confrontation with a police officer.
Franti sings/raps all the parts of the narrative as well as all the characters speech – which sounds naff but he makes it work. The swearing (and violence) is uncharacteristic of Spearhead and is used for realism rather than gangster kudos. It is more about ‘a’ death than ‘death’ per se. I have seen Spearhead twice – great gigs. This is unaccompanied version which is also really good http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJhuPQWYXTw
Not admired and subject to dog’s abuse…

The vote – in a Eurovision style extravaganza of backscratching – transpired as follows.

Foo Fighters…1
White Lies…….1
Death Cab…….1
Motorhead…….1
Felice Bros……..1
David Bowie……0
Iron & Wine…….2

Iron & Wine became the somewhat less than unanimous selection as BEST SONG ABOUT DEATH

Next meeting – a genre – Dubstep

One Response to “SONGS ABOUT DEATH”

  1. theaudiofiles Says:

    Not sure why the links aren’t working, sorry

Leave a comment